Thank you! Your feedback helps us improve.

Introducing Knowledge Share

Who has access?
- Members of Grammarly Business subscriptions

Knowledge Share helps your team members decode terms like acronyms or internal project names by providing tooltip-like explanations—a definition of a term, key contacts, and links to relevant documents.

Topics covered in this article:

How to add terms to Knowledge Share

You can add the terms that you’d like to define in two ways:

  1. By going to the Knowledge Share page, clicking Add term, and selecting Add individual term:Add
  2. By opening the Knowledge Share page, clicking Add term, and choosing Import list. You will see the prompt to download a template, which you can fill in with the list of terms. Once that’s done, click Next in the same window and upload the file.

Additionally, you can benefit from our pre-set term lists by clicking Add term and selecting Add pre-set terms.

Once the terms have been added, Grammarly will highlight them for you and your team members. Hover over a highlighted term to surface its description, relevant documents, and key contacts:

Add

Where does Knowledge Share work?

Currently, Knowledge Share is available in Google Docs, Gmail, Confluence, and Jira via Grammarly for Chrome, in Microsoft Word and Outlook via Grammarly for Windows, and in Slack via Grammarly for Mac.

In Google Docs, Knowledge Share definitions will be displayed in documents that are not owned by you. In Gmail, terms will be defined in emails that have been received or already sent by you.

In Microsoft Word for Windows, you will see Knowledge Share highlights while writing, reading your documents in Read Mode, and viewing read-only documents.

In Microsoft Outlook, Knowledge Share definitions will be shown for incoming emails.

In Confluence and Jira, Knowledge Share definitions will appear for published text.

How to edit or delete Knowledge Share terms

To edit or delete a term, go to the Knowledge Share page and click on the term you’d like to modify. In the window that opens next, edit the term details and click Save to apply the changes, or click Delete term if you’d like to delete the term:

Edit

You can also start editing a term from its definition card that appears on hover.

Additionally, you can delete a term by locating it on the Knowledge Share page and clicking the three dots icon next to the term.

Note: When creating terms, you can add aliases (alternative names) for each term.

If you are a Grammarly Business admin, you can select which team member roles allow to create, edit, and delete Knowledge Share terms.

To do that, go to the Knowledge Share page, click the three dots icon in the upper-right corner of the page, and select Settings.

Note: By default, the option to add, edit, delete, or export Knowledge Share terms is available to all team member roles.

How to export Knowledge Share terms

You can export the terms in bulk by going to the Knowledge Share page and clicking Export in the upper-right corner:

Export.png

Was this article helpful?
Tell us what you think. We promise to act on your feedback to make Grammarly's support pages even more helpful.
Have more questions? Submit a request
knowledge share